Float to Array - can't find solution

Hello all,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to read my question here. I appreciate your time.

I am new to Arduino and electronics. I have PHP programming experience so the programming is not totally foreign though I am learning new bits each day.

I have a simple task I am trying to complete, display to a 4 digit 7-seg display using a serial register. I have the thing hooked up and working when I specify the numbers individually, but I am having difficulty getting my float into a char array so I can parse it and determine where the decimal need displayed etc when getting the number from a temp sensor or potentiometer etc.

So, I have tried dtostrf() and it seems to be flaky at best. I have tried to do straight math for determining, but am having problems with that. I have tried sprintf() and it produces a ?.

I have seen multiple ways, but can't find one that works for me and is rock solid.

My latest math based version is this..... The test number with no decimal works no problem and I get each digit properly... but when it comes to the decimal point, I am lost as to how to get it int it's own var.

temp = 127.4; // float to determine decimal
// temp = 1324; // normal 4-digit number

int d; int c; int b; int a;

a = temp / 1000;   // returns proper number
  b = (temp - (a * 1000)) / 100; 
  c = (temp - ( (a * 1000) + (b * 100) ) ) / 10;
  d = (temp - ( (a * 1000) + (b * 100) + (c * 10) ) );

So, if someone can assist me in what the easiest way to get a float into a char array with the decimal point in it's own array item, I would appreciate it.

stdio.h library sprintf() fills a char buffer with formatted output.

Variant of printf() that sends the formatted characters to string s.

Formatting reference is lower down the same page.

So, I have tried dtostrf() and it seems to be flaky at best.

What do you mean by "flaky"? It works fine for me.

char buf[8];
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  dtostrf(123.45,7,2,buf);