Floating serial issue [SOLVED]

Hello, i have a master board sending commands to a slave board via serial 2. When master is loaded with new code, slave receives plenty of nonsense. Any elegant way, avoiding pulldowns, to avoid this nuisance? Thanks

Solution
on the slave board, setup section, add after (or before)
Serial2.begin(115200);// ~100us/char
the line
pinMode(RX2_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);
with RX2_PIN correctly mapped

Any elegant way, avoiding pulldowns, to avoid this nuisance?

Post your code, post your schematic.

It is a nuisance, isn’t it?

You really haven't provided any useful information or schematic.
If you want help you have to start at the beginning and explain EVERYTHING and include a schematic
if possible.

@HAL9000,
What happened ? Did you max out the post counter ?

Hi,
Have you got the gnds of the two controllers connected?
What model Arduinos are you using?

Thanks… Tom… :slight_smile:

TomGeorge:
Hi,
Have you got the gnds of the two controllers connected?
What model Arduinos are you using?

Thanks.. Tom.. :slight_smile:

Thank YOU Tom,
Both are mega board sitting by solderless cards, both (mega and solderless) mounted on a plastic support platform from sparkfun
Yes the two board's grounds are connected.

Again, issue is while master is undergoing code download. In this situation, there is noise AND outputs (master Tx) are (i think) threestated.

Hi,

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png?

Thanks… Tom… :slight_smile:

guy_c:
Hello, i have a master board sending commands to a slave board via serial 2. When master is loaded with new code, slave receives plenty of nonsense. Any elegant way, avoiding pulldowns, to avoid this nuisance? Thanks

You may try using a GPIO from the master connected to the slave as a ValidMasterSignal and monitor that signal, at the slave end, for MasterIsValid and from there do the blah and blah and blah thing.

TomGeorge:
Hi,