Flow Meter and couting pulses

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new to the arduino world i have some very basic skills and understanding of how it all works. basically i am creating a fluid dispatch system for a food preservative. this is for a school project. my idea is to use the arduino as the controller and have it read and count pulses that will keep track of how much fluid has been pumped. i want to be able to push start and the system pumps until a value is met.

what i am having trouble with is how would i write code for the flow meter? would it be some sort of count++ code that has a value of say 1000 pulses and once it is met it resets to 0 and writes the pump motor pin low? please help me as i am in the dark on this.

That sounds like a reasonable approach. You would need some code to detect the button press that starts the whole process. The state change detection shows how to do this. When the button is pressed, you would set the counter to the number of pulses corresponding to the amount you wanted to dispense, and start the pump.

You would also use the same approach to read the meter and detect when a pulse has occurred and decrement the count remaining. When the count remaining is less than one, stop the pump.

You might think about what you want to happen if somebody pushes the button again while it is dispensing. Perhaps you want to ignore subsequent button presses until the current cycle has complete i.e. the count remaining is less than one. Do you want to have a way to abort the cycle after it has started?