FM frequency read - motor control

Hello,
I am new to Arduino, I barely started looking into this. However, I have a project in mind which I think it can be done with Arduino.
I would like to build a Vintage FM radio but I think I will use a schematic without the big variable capacitor; this would not be a problem but I don't think I will find a capacitor in good shape + the whole mechanism for the scale. I am very interested in the looks and I would really like to have the frequency scale with the thin indicator on my radio.
What I had in mind was to read the radio frequency and "tell" a stepper motor to go to a specific position (via Arduino or an AVR). I think the mechanism would be way simpler and easier to control than the old capacitor + pulleys and strings. I think I would need a schematic and a code able to "probe" something in the radio schematic - read the frequency - move the stepper to a designated position on a defined scale (steps). Considering the FM band of 88-108 Mhz and the fact that the stations can have one decimal, this means I would need a 200 steps resolution for the motor (20Mhz bandwidth x 10 subdivisions/Mhz). Also, it would be nice for the stepper to know where it is because I will probably like to have both manual and automated tuning of the stations.
Does the above make sense? Is it doable and does anyone have an idea (probably even a schematic/code) for how to do it?

I appreciate all the help I can get. Thanks,
Mihai

Does the above make sense? Is it doable and does anyone have an idea (probably even a schematic/code) for how to do it?

What I had in mind was to read the radio frequency

How do you plan to do that ?

Is it doable ? I don't know . Can you do it ? You have to provide the schematic and decide where to probe.

If I had a schematic I probably would've asked different questions, don't you think?

This is an Arduino forum. What is the chance of getting a radio schematic on this forum do you think ? (50/50 ?)