Foot Switch to Laptop: Should I Use an Arduino?

Let me preface this by saying that I'm not much of an electrical engineer. I have a problem and a friend of mine thought an Arduino might be the solution, so please give me your input.

My goal is to use a foot switch to activate effects on vocals that are being run through my laptop on a Max/MSP patch. Basically, I just need a way for the laptop (and specifically the MSP patch) to recognize when the foot switch is down.

I have a momentary foot switch with a 1/4" output. I assume the best way for the laptop to pick up the signal is through USB. Is an Arduino a logical and simple middle step? What are your ideas? And has something like this been done before?

Again, I apologize if this question seems elementary to the seasoned EEs out there. I have little knowledge of the hardware side of things, so please don't be afraid to dumb it down a little.

Thanks!

Well an Arduino can certainly read a foot switch and send a serial message to the PC via the USB serial comm port, that's a trivial task for it. A lot depends on your PC host application software and what control you have over it. In older days, with real PC comm ports and printer parallel ports, you could just wire a switch contact to those kinds of ports to do such a simple task.

Lefty

Another option is to build a simple USB shield (USB socket, resistors and a couple of zener diodes) so that the Arduino can act as a simple Keyboard HID device with the foot keys sending regular keyboard codes. I've had one working for a while , based on one of the V-USB projects here: http://www.obdev.at/products/vusb/projects.html and information here http://code.rancidbacon.com/ProjectLogArduinoUSB, which looks like its been updates quite a lot since I last looked here!