"fopen" function help!

Hi,

I have been having trouble verifying code in Arduino, code which works perfectly well as a purely C Eclipse 3-7 program, which uses the "fopen" function to open a text file from the PC's hard drive and then to print the file's contained string to console. The string is simply azimuth information (0-360 degrees) for controlling a moveable signpost. The idea is to use this information to eventually control a servo, through an Arduino Uno.

"fopen" is meant to be included in the stdio library, however the error I get when verifying code is "'fopen' was not declared in this scope".

I have no Uno connected up as of yet, and was hoping to simply test my file-opening-and-printing code before modifying it to be a servo control. It could be that it just isn't possible to print to console like one would with another C development environment.

I am a complete beginner with Arduino, and not much more experienced with C itself, as you can perhaps tell.

Any help would be appreciated greatly.

Thanks

which uses the "fopen" function to open a text file from the PC's hard drive

I have no Uno connected up as of yet

When you do get one, look carefully for the hard-drive. Real carefully.

What PaulS is trying to tell you, :) is that there is no way for Arduino code to open a file on your PC, and there is no where to store a file on an Ardunio board without something like and SD card shield.

If you want Arduino to read a file on your PC GoBetwino can probably do it for you, as long as your Arduino and your PC are connected. If you want the file to be "on your Arduino" you need some kind of storage device attaced to your Arduino, like an SD card.

You should not expect to take C code from other environments like Eclipse and run it directly on Arduino, remember that Arduino has no disk, no screen, no keyboard, and very limited memory.