for eagle user and programmer

hi, I am new to arduino. currently working with discrete components. see attached schematic. I will do my best to explain how it is used and what I need designed and programmed. some patience on your part will be required as I am relatively new to electronics in general.

as you can see it starts with a LDR and comparator circuit because I chose not to have power going to anything at all till dark. the only thing running during the day is the LDR circuit.

when dark arrives the lm339 opens the circuit and allows power to go to a PIR and to a clock. where (2) things happen. the clock starts to count down to 30 minutes. at 30m it sends a 12s high signal to the base of Q4 which in turn sends 5v reg to load (30mA) for 12s. the clock resets itself and continues as long as it is dark.

also at night the motion sensor when triggered also sends a high signal to the base of Q4 for approximately 12s, which again sends 5v reg to load hopefully for 12s. I say hopefully because the PIR can not be fine tuned to hit exactly 12s. it has a lot of drift.

i have been told you CAN turn on an arduino using and LDR? what i do not know is if it would need to be a separate circuit like the one designed or if there is a way to plug an LDR into an arduino.

the real estate available is 2" x 1.75" component size 0805, arduino tiny? see UPDATE that will simply plug in to a piggy back, the board will also include a 12 pin buss. for LDR, PIR +-o/p, PWR out GND, etc. HOWEVER>>>EDIT the buss size may change because of the inputs and outputs available on the arduino.

please note this not an experiment. simply transitioning from analog to a micro processor. nothing needs to be changed.

at dark the LDR opens circuit and allows power to the arduino

arduino turns on PIR, pir now set to 1s high arduino controls power to load, 12s, WITH a 5 to 10s pause BEFORE accepting another high from PIR. (otherwise it would just go , on/on/on/on/on)