for loop is exited too soon if the internal conditions are not met

Hi, sorry if I’m asking a simple question but I’m new to this.

The for loop is supposed to stay looking for the pin1 to go high for 3 seconds and then switch to the next unless hold is pressed and kept high.

But in this case the for loop stays ON only if the pin 1 is high but not if the pin 1 is low. If the pin 1 is low the loop stops and continues with the next.

Please let me know where i’m going wrong. I want the loop to run for 3 seconds and keep scanning no matter what and stay in the loop if the hold is pressed and goto the next loop if the hold is removed.

(I could use else after the if but I want the light to stay on even if the pin1 goes high just once and so i just left out the else.)

const int led1 = 2;
const int led2 = 3;
const int led3 = 4;

int pin1 = A3;
int hold = A2;

int led = 0;
int val = 0;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led3, OUTPUT);

pinMode(hold, INPUT);

pinMode(pin1, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  {
    led = digitalRead(res);
    for (long unsigned int i = 0; i <= 2850; i++) {
      if (pin1 == HIGH) {
        digitalWrite(led1, HIGH);
      }                                         // don't want to use else to keep the led ON for the received signal            
      val = digitalRead(hold);

if (val == HIGH) {
        while (val == HIGH) {

if (pin1 == HIGH) {

digitalWrite(led1, HIGH);
          }
          else {
            digitalWrite(led1, LOW);
          }

val = digitalRead(hold);
        }
      }
    }
  }

{
    led = digitalRead(res);
    for (long unsigned int i = 0; i <= 2850; i++) {
      if (pin1 == HIGH) {
        digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
      }
      val = digitalRead(hold);

if (val == HIGH) {
        while (val == HIGH) {

if (pin1 == HIGH) {

digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
          }
          else {