Force crash Arduino Uno to pass by the time counter limit

Hi everyone, I am doing a project where I need to make a motor turn by phases and loop it indefinitely. To do so, I use:

• Arduino Uno
  • Nema 17 motor
  • A4988 Stepper Motor Driver

My issue is the following: as I need to have this programme running “forever” (several months/years) without any external influence, I would like to find a way to make the Arduino reboot/reset at the end of every cycle in order to have the time counter reset.

would you have any idea how to do so ?

thanks in advance !!!

Show us your code and we can show you how to avoid th problem, which sounds also like this might be of interest to you just now:

For deployment that might literally be years you might have other reasons to “force crash” your system, but time counter reset is unnecessary as you can read above.

HTH

a7

Watchdog timer springs to mind

Thank you for your answer. I am a very beginner in theses things so I didn’t understand everything in the link about millis rollover.

my code is currently as follow:

int x;
#define BAUD (9600)

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(BAUD);
pinMode(6,OUTPUT); // Enable
pinMode(5,OUTPUT); // Step
pinMode(4,OUTPUT); // Dir (rotation)
digitalWrite(6,LOW); // Set Enable low
}

void loop()
{
digitalWrite(4,HIGH); // Set Dir (rotation) high
Serial.println(“Loop 1600 steps (1 rev)”);
for(x = 0; x < 12000; x++) // Loop for x milisec
{
digitalWrite(5,HIGH); // Output high
delay(2); // Wait
digitalWrite(5,LOW); // Output low
delay(3); // Wait
}
Serial.println(“Pause”);
delay(690000); // pause milisec

digitalWrite(4,LOW); // Set Dir high
Serial.println(“Loop 1600 steps (1 rev)”);
for(x = 0; x < 12000; x++) // Loop for x milisec
{
digitalWrite(5,HIGH); // Output high
delay(2); // Wait
digitalWrite(5,LOW); // Output low
delay(3); // Wait
}
Serial.println(“Pause”);
delay(690000); // pause milisec

}