FPS counter on the Arduino Uno/Contatore di fps sullo schermo lcd di arduino uno

ENGLISH:
Hi everyone,
I am new to the sector and I would like to write a code that shows me the fps that my video card does in real time on the lcd screen (16x2) of arduino uno. I have already written this but it shows the fps of the lcd screen instead of the video card.

// include the library code:
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

long lastMillis = 0;
long fps = 0;

void setup() {
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
  if ((millis() - lastMillis) > 1000) {
    lcd.clear();

lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
    lcd.print("SECONDI ");
    lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
    lcd.print("FPS ");

lcd.setCursor(8, 0);
    lcd.print(millis()/1000);

lcd.setCursor(4, 1);
    lcd.print(fps);
    fps = 0;
    lastMillis = millis();
  }
  fps = fps + 1;
}

Thanks in advance for your help.
Grazie in anticipo dell’aiuto.

OK.

Here's a question for you!

What video card are you talking about?

And what does it have to do - as I suspect it does not - with an Arduino? :roll_eyes:

I want to make a second screen to get an overview of the fps I do.

You mean?

Unfortunately, you are not making very clear what it is you are tying to achieve and why.

"Frames per second" is not particularly meaningful in regard to the 1602 or similar character LCD displays as on the one hand, you cannot read text particularly fast in any case, while these displays are inherently slow to update (mostly, slow to fade the previous image) and you can only move text in horizontal or vertical steps of single characters at a time.

In short, they are not really suitable for animation, which is why "frames per second" is not a useful criterion. Probably about five at most. :cold_sweat: