Frequency Analysis

Hey folks!
Maybe you can help me... I'm new in the analog-sector and audio. But I need an option to analyses an audio stream incoming from a microphone that triggers a function on a special frequency.

Hope you understand what I mean? Maybe a great tutorial or something? I just found the word "FFT" but have no idea how to deal with...

Thank you!

I've never used this stuff, but there are FFT and FHT libraries for the Arduino so you don't have to do the math yourself. But, you do need to understand what FFT does.

Do you have a microphone shield (or something similar) and are you getting audio readings? What frequency are you looking for?

"Normal" audio is represented in the time domain where there is an amplitude for every moment* in time. For example this amplitude determines the position at any moment in time as it vibrates in & out. A regular VU/loudness meter works in the time domain.

FFT converts the data to the frequency domain where the audio is represented as the frequency content at any moment* in time.

Have you ever seen a [u]spectrum analyzer[/u]? With a spectrum analyzer, the low frequencies are on the left and the high frequencies are on the right

If you are interested in a single frequency you don't need FFT. You simply need a bandpass filter (which can be implemented digitally). A bandpass filter reduces frequencies above and below the bandpass frequency.

• With digitized audio these moments are quantized/sampled. CD audio is sampled 44,100 times per second. With FFT you might have about 1000 samples per FFT conversion so you might have 4000 FFT conversions per second.

A consine resonator or complex resonator is another way to pick out and detect a specific frequency

DVDdoug:

• With digitized audio these moments are quantized/sampled. CD audio is sampled 44,100 times per second. With FFT you might have about 1000 samples per FFT conversion so you might have 4000 FFT conversions per second.