Frequency counter measuring burst signal

I want to build a frequency counter for measuring mobile transmitter by using Arduino atmega328.

It can measure frequency range from 100MHz to 600MHz (1GHz will be advanced), and display freq. on LCD1602 (16x2).

It can measure both continue carrier and burst carrier (fixed freq, with about 30ms on, and 30ms off alternatively).

It can show the signal whether it is a continue or non-continue signal on LCD1602 (2x16). The LCD should show xxx.xxxMHz (accuracy in KHz is acceptable, in 100Hz would be advanced)

I am a beginner on arduino, but I have knowledge in C language, Any suggestion on this project ?

Thanks you very much !!

This would be difficult to do for measuring a continuous steady frequency but burst carrier makes the project a no no IMO. Other may beg to differ.

If I build the freq. counter to measure continuous carrier first. Any guildline/web for reference for me please ?

Maybe this will help and as the micro controller used is from the Atmel AT family it should convert quite well. Use "Frequency Counter Prescaler" as the google search term to find other examples.

Is my brain especially slow today ....

How can a 16MHz MCU measure a 100MHz signal ?

...R

Robin2: How can a 16MHz MCU measure a 100MHz signal ?

Using a prescaler or binary counter. You loose some accuracy unless you can stop the reference signal and inject your own (controlled) pulses to count how many more are needed to trigger the next output pulse.

Is it possible us the one or more "pulsein()" as the gate time, and then count the number of pulse during the gate time, so as to calculate the input freq. (no. of pulse / gate time) ?

prescaler = 1 (no prescaler) => accuracy = 1HZ prescaler = 100 => accuracy = 100HZ prescaler = 1000 => accuracy = 1KHz

chanman60: Is it possible us the one or more "pulsein()" as the gate time, and then count the number of pulse during the gate time, so as to calculate the input freq. (no. of pulse / gate time) ?