fridge control (asking for ideas)

Hello. this is the seccond time i have problems with the mechanical thermostat on my fridge, and since they are not that cheap i decided to fix this with an arduino, the reason for this post is that, im not really experienced with arduino and im not an experienced programmer, so im looking forward for sugestions on how to do it..

what i have in my mind is:

1. temp sensor with lm36
  2. arduino
  3. relay - normal open (mechical or solid state?)

in the code i will set the temp min and max in the range of 3 to 8 Celsius, and have the arduino check this temperature every 10 seconds and make an average every minute (SensedTemp/6)=avgTemp

also, every minute, check avgTemp and:

if its LOWER, turn on green AND yellow leds and STOP_compressor()
if its in the range set a green led on and STOP_compressor()
else, if its higher, START_compressor() and turn on red light

thats the easy and basic part, what im not sure if i need or would be easy to implement is:

1. turn of compressor if it has been on for X time, and temp still high
  2. dont start it again unless Y time has passed since previous start
  3. call a WTF() function if them is REALLY high for some time (maybe the electricity was cut os something)
  4. allow to "ignore" any of the previous conditions..

well thats all i can think of, what do you people think?

That's all very doable. I can't find any data for an LM36 temp sensor, maybe you meant LM35 or LM34? For your application, I think the LM34 (Fahrenheit) sensor would be better than the LM35 (Celcius) because it provides a greater sensitivity and works without a negative supply voltage at (and even below) around 0degC. You can do the degrees F->C conversion in the Arduino.

For the relay, I would use an SSR, but make sure it's one designed for inductive loads (i.e. with a built-in snubber).

yeah, i meant LM35, sorry.