from Arduino to a local host

Hi guys,
I am currently doing my senior design project. And I am kind of new to the world of Arduino and software market. I have the data displayed on the Arduino interface, and all what I want to do is to take these data and put it in my "locatlhost" or anythoing from which I can export to the localhost.
Do you guys have any solutions or recommendations ? what kind of codes should I write ? if you can post the code I will be appreciated.

Thank you
Ahmed

localhost is a description of a web server running on the local machine. Does the Arduino have an ethernet shield, so that it can access the web server?

Actually I have a wireless shield that supports Wifly. But can I do it through a USB cable

Thank you

But can I do it through a USB cable

No. You can send a GET request to the serial port, but there needs to be something that bears a strong resemblance to a httpd that is monitoring that serial port. The httpd that is running on your localhost does NOT monitor the serial port.

Now, Processing could be used to talk to the Arduino and make get requests on its behalf.

What is the server going to do with the data?

I really appreciate your efforts. so, the localhost will receive the data, its basically 0 or 1 and put them in Mysql table for which we have some PHP files that run our algorithm. So the ethernet shield will be responsible for these requests from the serial ports?? and in which language can we send these get requests ??

Thank you

Do you understand what "localhost" is?

I think that's going to be a key component to making your project work?

If you have more information than I do please share ? what is a "Localhost". I will be really appreciated if you have an answer to my main question and mean while give me some useful information about what is a localhost.

Thank you

I have read it. and still it does not answer my main question. Thank you anyway . I really appreciate your time and efforts.

Thank you