Func freeze the loop, unless i use a serial.print

First, this is a project where im counting pulses on my electrical powermeter. It adds up some samples, calculate average, and prints on lcd + sends over ethernet.

So, my first version i didnt have any functions, this is my first time i write C. Today i cleaned up the code and sorted it out in different functions.
My largest function getAvgWatt() is a while loop that reads an LDR, measures time between the led pulses, calculates average, and return current power consumption in watts. This worked perfectly yesterday. Today it freezes the Arduiono, it wont even count a sigle pulse. After much debugging (putting serial.print everywhere) I found out that the while loop stops after one run. However, if i added a serial.print(variable); inside the whileloop everything runs like it should.

So why do i need to print to Serial inside the while loop to keep it from freezing? My first guess was that it needed a delay, so i tried with delay(10) to delay(500), but still freezes. Anyway, i cant have a big delay inside that loop, because it calculates time between pulses, and the time would be affected by the delay(), the serial.print() does not seem to affect the time.

Heres the code:

#include <TimedAction.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);
int ledPin = 13;
int avgwatt = 5;
int switchPin = 7;              
const int numReadings = 20; 

TimedAction timedAction = TimedAction(60000,sendData); // run sendData() every 1 minute

void setup()                    
{
  Serial.begin(9600);           
  pinMode(switchPin, INPUT);    
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  lcd.begin(16, 2);

} 
void loop()                     
{

avgwatt = getAvgWatt();   // returns average watt
      lcd.setCursor(0,0);
      lcd.print(avgwatt);
      lcd.print(" WATT   ");
      Serial.print("Avgwatt er utregnet til: ");  // for debugging
      Serial.println(avgwatt);