Function not working after upgrading from Uno to Mega

Hello everyone,

I am new to Arduino, I started out with an Uno to get my feet wet. After running out of Digital I/O pins I decided to upgrade to a Mega. I had to modify my Sparkfun Xbee Shield to get the Xbee serial to work because I found out SoftwareSerial doesn’t work with the Mega 2560. I soldered the DIN and DOUT from the Xbee Shield directly to TX3 and RX3 on the Mega. After the modification I was able to communicate back and forth between Xbees. I also modified my program to replace the Xbee.serial (software serial) with Serial3. After this I found that my function readXbeeByte() no longer works. Someone please take a look at my logic. I am passing 4 values in byte which are “255,x,y,sum of x and y”

void GetCommand() {
int val[3], checksum=0, incoming=0;
if(Serial3.available() > 0) {
//Serial.print(’\n’);Serial.print(Serial3.read());Serial.print(’*’); If I remove the comments, I can see all 4 values coming in.
if (Serial3.read()==255) { // read the next 3 bytes

val[0]=readXbeeByte()-125; // readXbeeByte() return zeros
val[1]=readXbeeByte()-125;
val[2]=readXbeeByte();

incoming=2;
}
}
if (incoming>0) {
//do something else
}
}

int readXbeeByte(){
unsigned long delaytime=millis();
while (Serial3.available() > 0 && millis()-delaytime < 250) { // This loop for some reason is always false.
return Serial3.read();
}
}

TankStyleSweep_v2.ino.ino (3.76 KB)

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <SabertoothSimplified.h>

// Mixed mode is for tank-style diff-drive robots.
// Only Packet Serial actually has mixed mode, so this Simplified Serial library
// emulates it (to allow easy switching between the two libraries).

SabertoothSimplified ST(Serial2); 
int deadmanbuttonPin = 9;  
int panic;
unsigned long currentTime;
unsigned long timeOfLastGoodPacket = 0;
unsigned long timeOfLastTTL = 0;
//SabertoothSimplified ST; // We'll name the Sabertooth object ST.