Functions / library functions running 'in background'

Hi all,

I'm a moderately experienced programmer - but I generally learn as I need to while hacking my way through projects, and I never extensively learned C++ - so I expect that the answer to my question is something I've failed to understand about programming the Arduino.

I just recently needed to use the tone() function, and set out to crate a double beep with a rising tone, eg:

1000hz for 80ms 1400hz for 80ms

And discovered that if I used:

tone(9, 1000, 80);
tone(9, 1400, 80);

I only hear the 1400hz beep. This, I learned, is because the second call to tone() simply changes the frequency to the new setting. But I'm intrigued by how the second line is executed while the first hasn't completed. For example, I know that if I created a function called MyTone() which did some trickery with PWM to create tones, the behaviour would be different (i.e. the first function call would be executed, and when it returned the second would).

So can someone explain what's going on here? Ultimately, it would be very handy to make simple functions for example this one:

void DoubleFlash()
{
  digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
  delay(500);
}

which would be executed 'in the background' so to speak, allowing the program to move on while the LED blinking occurs.

Thanks in advance!

Write non blocking code using the technique found in the example sketch Blink Without Delay BWD.

Robin2 has a thread you may want to look at: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=223286.0

So can someone explain what's going on here?

tone(9, 1000, 80);
tone(9, 1400, 80);