G1/2 water flow sensor with arduino

hello everyone.

I have been trying to hook up a G1/2 water flow sensor with arduino. I have connected the red wire to 5V output, the black wire to GROUND, and the yellow wire to analog pin 0.
I have been searchin the web for info, but I can’t find out whether i need to put a resistor in somewhere?

I would also like to ask if any of you have a sketch that measures either L/min or L. I feel somewhat lost at the moment, as i am quite new to arduino.

I would imagine that you need to use, analogRead(0) in my case, but i can’t seem to get any useable numbers.

best regards, Jens.

This sensor uses a hall device to output pulses, the rate of which are proportional to flow rate. (found by simply googling G1/2 flow sensor and then selecting the seedunio site)
I suspect therefore that you need to look at the input using a digin rather than analogue configuration and measure either timing between pulses or count number of pulses over a fixed period of time - say 1 minute

Ah, so I have to measure / count how many times the sensor turns on and off in fx. a minute. What commands can I use to do that?
Im sorry about the “dumb” questions, I am quite new to arduino.

best regards, Jens.

What commands can I use to do that?

use interrupts

Other device, same principle - ==> - Arduino Playground - HomePage -

Should provide enough to get something working, please let us know if it works and how you callibrated things...

I just got today a 3/4 inch version of the same thing I suspect. As the previous replies mention this is best read with an interrupt routine that counts pulses and measures frequency. If all you want is rate, and don't care about count. Then the pulseIn() function (which I just learned about from reading another post) would work well and be very easy.