Geetech SIM900 & Uno R3 not playing well together for SMS receive

Greetings!

I am attempting to retrieve text messages and then perform actions based on the content of the message.

I am new to Arduino IDE & syntax (why aren't there line numbers?!?!) but have a bit of Java experience, so thinking I can figure it out if I had a working example.

While I have gotten the Uno & Geetech shield to successfully send SMS and make phone calls (using code found on this and other forums), receiving anything more than garbled characters remains elusive.

I have tried every example I have been able to find - 12 or so - and none of them work, so I'm feeling fussy about it after five or so days.

Does anyone have any tips or sample code they can share or point me to?

Thank you! :blush:

Update:

This code:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <string.h>

char incoming_char = 0;
SoftwareSerial cell(7, 8);

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(19200);
cell.begin(19200);

Serial.print(“Started”);

}

void loop()
{
if(cell.available() > 0)
{
incoming_char=cell.read();
if((incoming_char >= ’ ') && (incoming_char <= ‘z’))
Serial.print(incoming_char);

}

if(Serial.available() > 0)
{
incoming_char = Serial.read();
cell.print(incoming_char);

}

}

… Does in fact output something close to what is expected when sending AT+CMGR=1

The problem now is - writing each char to a string where comparisons can be made. Not wrapping my head around how to do this…