Generating piezo tone, higher & higher

Hi,

I’m a noob when it comes to arduino. So don’t be to complicated in your comments please :smiley:
I’m trying to make a loading sound for my iron man project, it has to start low and go higher and higher in tone,
so I made this little program with a for loop :

int piezo=10;
int pitch=100000;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode(10, OUTPUT);
for (int pitch=100000;pitch<=10;pitch--)
{
  digitalWrite(piezo,HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(pitch);
  digitalWrite(piezo,LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(pitch);
  }
digitalWrite(piezo, LOW);
}

void loop() {

digitalWrite(13,HIGH);  
delay(100);
}

But when the program starts, it makes the right sound output, but after it reaches a high frequency it suddenly drops back at a frequency like 60Hz

can’t find out why?

100000 is too big to be held in a 16-bit signed int. Make pitch an unsigned long and that might work better.

Also, pitch<=10 would make more sense if it was pitch>=10.

Also, pitch is not a good name since this is really the half-period, which is more like the inverse of the pitch.

You have defined a global variable named pitch and also a local variable of the same name. The global variable is not used; you could get rid of it.

Since you have defined a variable piezo to record the pin number, it would make sense to use that in the call to pinMode() rather than duplicate the value. For extra brownie points, make piezo a const.

delayMicroseconds() only takes an unsigned int as a parameter. If you want to do more than 65535, you’ll have to call delay() instead. It uses milliseconds.