Generating random numbers with hardware noise?

In response to this question over on the programming board: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=325219

What would be a simple way to generate noisy bits in hardware? It doesn't matter of the noise is not perfectly 50/50 high and low, because you can take successive pairs of bits and generate a fair coin toss that way.

Can you use a photodetector on an analog input and take the bottom bit? A transistor being driven too hard? A sloppy oscillator? An antenna picking up environmental noise?

I'm not an electronics person - I'm a programmer - what's a solution I could put on a breadboard and use?

--EDIT--

I'm not looking for a cryptographically secure system - I can see there's a lot of discussion on that and it's not a simple problem. So instead, just looking for something good enough to initialise a game. Small and easy to do.

Would just sticking a length of wire in an analog input as an antenna and using VonNeuman's whitening work pretty well most of the time?

A noisy electronic component is a Zener diode operating at the knee voltage.

A single resistor... http://hal9k.ifsc.usp.br/~matias/floss/orb/info/ORB_Index.html

However, the method does not work with AVR processors. The sample-and-hold capacitor does not have enough capacitance. An external capacitor may get the method working.

A sloppy oscillator?

I assume from that question you have not bothered to follow the link I provided. Following it does require just a single mouse click. Oh well. I guess I’m done here.

Grumpy_Mike: A noisy electronic component is a Zener diode operating at the knee voltage.

Yes, better still use the BE junction of a small transistor in its zener breakdown region, passing about 1 mA through it in the reverse direction. Follow it with a LP filter to get the bandwidth you require and an amplifier.

Russell.

A button.