Generating single timer interrupt

I have a lot of experience with interrupt programming with the 6502/6522 processor/VIA but have only just started looking at interrupt programming with the Arduino.

What I want to do is generate a single pin state change after a precise time. I have used the timer in an arduino loop() but this is not accurate enough for me so I want to use 3 timers in an ATMega to control 3 pins accurately with their own delays (which may or may not overlap)

The examples I have found online all generate repeating interrupts as the timer resets to zero and starts another cycle.

I don’t want this, I just want the interrupt to run once after it is started.

The 6522 had a register that would allow me to program a single interrupt as opposed to a repeating one. Is there any way of doing the same with the Arduino? The alternative would be to disable the timer interrupt in the interrupt handling routine but I’m not sure how best to do this.

Can anyone advise please?

This may be dumb, but what about this:

Define a boolean variable, didInterrupt, and initialize it to false.

ISR HANDLER FUNCTION
{
  IF didInterrupt is false THEN
  {
    Drive the pin high
    Set didInterrupt to true
  }
}

Another approach would be to, in loop(), remove the interrupt handler or stop the timer or whatever after the “interruptTriggered” variable is changed by the first ISR.

What you do is set the OCR value for your desired delay, set your pin high, enable OCIE interrupt for your timer, the ISR is called after the delay in the ISR,, set pin low, then disable OCIE for your timer

Interrupts: Gammon Forum : Electronics : Microprocessors : Interrupts

Timers: Gammon Forum : Electronics : Microprocessors : Timers and counters

Thanks all for the suggestions. The boolean flag solution is not suitable. The other methods are what I had thought I would do.

I was just wondering if there was a register value that would achieve the same thing automatically.