Generic Code For Servo Motor - Struggling with servo attach

Hi All,

Firstly Thanks for looking and Many Thanks if you can help solve my issue.

Persistance is the key - but i''m running out of persistance >:(

Basically i am trying to write generic code for as much of my project as possible and for a large part i have suceeded... until now

I have 3 functions to control the output of a single servo motor rotation to a specified position, namely Danger, Clear and Clear with Bounce. I call these functions in a FSM when needed and everything works as it should. I have duplicated these functions for a second servo motor (renaming the relevant variables and function name) and again it all works as it should.

Thats 2 servo motors but the project requires 20 so thats a lot of coding and renaming so I am at the Generic Code Crossroads.

I'm new at coding and this generic malarky is frying my brain so Is there a way of making this generic within a function ?

void servoToDanger() {

downMainStarterServo.attach (downMainStarterServoMotorPin);

// Signal From Clear Position To Danger Position
    for (signalPosition = (downMainStarterClearPosition); signalPosition >= (downMainStarterDangerPosition); signalPosition = (signalPosition - (downMainStarterDangerDegreeSteps))) // for (goes from position, goes to position, increment position each time through for loop)
    {
      downMainStarterServo.write(signalPosition);
      delay(downMainStaterDangerTravelSpeed);
    }
    downMainStarterServo.detach ();
  }

and my variables

int downMainStarterDangerPosition = 70;       // Sets the Danger Position (This number can be altered to fine tune the arm position to horizontal position).
int downMainStarterDangerDegreeSteps = 1;      // Sets the Degree of Rotation for each step through the code [1. Must be whole number; 2.The higher the number the quicker it rotates through the code)