Generic Controller Feesability.

I've been doing some research on electronic builds and have settled on the solid platform that Arduino has to offer, yet I am still very new to electronics and Arduino. I do know that building an entire circuit on my own would be the most "efficient" way to do this, but I need to use stable things to solidify my concept.

My challenge is this:

I have engineered a switch panel that has 12 toggle switch outputs and 1 axis output. I am able to tie them all into a UNO board properly (or so I believe it did lol) but I want to program the Arduino board to be recognized by the computer as a generic game controller. This would result in an automatic driver recognition and populate (http://images.mmosite.com/dragonica/2009/06/07/dotdotg.png) this kind of box.

1. Is this possible.
  2. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to begin.
  3. If anyone has knowledge in the actual recognition and programming of the device properties that would show in the image above, do you have any resources I can look to?

This project is step 1 in a 5 step project that will get increasingly more complex, while adding in seven segment displays and more axis'. This is pretty much the most basic form of the project.

The Leonardo might be better than the Uno. It can be programmed to pretend to be a mouse / keyboard / other USB device.

[quote author=Nick Gammon link=topic=116468.msg876507#msg876507 date=1343598072] The Leonardo might be better than the Uno. It can be programmed to pretend to be a mouse / keyboard / other USB device. [/quote]Which I've seen in other posts. Problem is, I have an UNO. I can get one, but I would like to know if this is possible with what I have. I understand it may be more difficult than using a Leonardo. From what I understand Leonardo's library transmits signals in the form of "Keystrokes" when what I'm looking for is a way to make the board into a Generic Human Interface Device, and how to make windows recognize it as such.