Gerber file - Via and PTH query

Hi.

I'm new to using PCB software (self taught via youtube videos). I'm using DesignSpark 7.1 and it's
fabulous!!! No more AutoCAD drawings for me.

I'm just not sure how to check it against my original board. My original had a top ground plane, bottom traces and about 100 odd jumpers. This new design is 3 layers - middle is ground plane, hence no jumpers.

After doing the schematic, creating the PCB view and locating the components, I ran the "Auto Route Nets". Eventually with some shuffling, I ended up with zero errors. I've done a design rule check and again no errors.

Short of having it manufactured, is there anything else I can check or look for. The via's it made on it's own and burying the ground plane I find difficult to follow / check. Any suggestions appreciated.

3 layer board? Usually it's 2 or 4. I think most of us have ground plane on top and/or bottom, but route traces through it when necessary so it's not an unbroken plane (usually this is fine).

Always run your gerbers through a gerber viewer tool (there are some nice online ones).

You may be able to make it easier to follow the routing by turning off the ground plane layer so it doesn't get in the way.

DrAzzy:
3 layer board? Usually it's 2 or 4

Yes sorry, it would be 4 layers, however since I only need 3, I've got tracedstop and bottom and ground plan in the centre. Nothing on the 4th (inside layer).

For the ground plane, is it easy to change it from the inner layer to the outer? I wasn't sure how to do that.

The gerber viewer tool - can you tell me how it helps (briefly)?

I'll try check by turning the ground plane off as you suggested.

2 more quick questions - for the "copper pour" I simply inserted 2 pads near the edge of the board, with a single trace (net called "pour top"), then used this to attach the pours. I did this top and bottom. Is this ok?