Get Average Readings from DHT22

Hello guys! I am new to Arduino coding and I have a project that requires getting temperature readings from DHT22 and getting the average. I want to get the average thru the stored values of the reading in a dynamic array (since I assume that there will come a time that maybe one of the sensors is failing to read the temperature).

This is crucial because the average temperature will be used to activate a relay. Hence, I do not want to get a "nan" average whenever one of the sensors failed to read. Thanks in advance!

I want to get the average thru the stored values of the reading in a dynamic array

What about the array is to be dynamic? The size, which is what dynamic normally refers to? Or, the data in the array?

The size is fixed. Six temperature readings. However, the data or values are not since some of them might give a "nan" value which will result to "nan" average.

What I meant with dynamic is the number of dht22 readings might not be always six. It can be sometimes be lower than six (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, functioning well dht22 sensors)

Thanks PaulS for replying.

maybe a little bit off subject but it may save you some pain if you read a few posts on how to stabilize the reading on a dht22.

once I stabilized mine I found I didn't need to average anything and both sensors (used 2) were real close to reading the same. Then I just used one as a main and if it received a nan it swapped to the back-up. Your use maybe totally different but I thought it was worth mentioning.

Thanks gpop1. What was the code you used for making your other sensor as backup?

You can read the sensor, and store and count the value only if it is not a nan. That way, the nan readings will be discarded, and won't influence the average.

kinda hard to post my code as the names have been changed basically it

if (isnan(h) || isnan(t) || isnan(f)) {
  //  Serial.println("Failed to read from DHT sensor!");
  }