Get signal strength for RF 433 modules (without RSSI). Virtual Wire SOLVED

Hello community!
I am a newbie with Arduino, electricity and programming. I am developing a network of wireless sensors comprise:
-A gateway equipped with Arduino Uno, a GPRS (SIM900) module and an RF receiver 433 Mhz (http://www.bricogeek.com/shop/modulos-radiofrecuencia/370-kit-link-rf-433-mhz.html).
-Several sensors equipped with Arduino Micro, push a button and a transmitter RF 433 Mhz.
The sensors communicate with the gateway through this pair of transmitter / receiver RF433 Mhz low cost, and using Virtual Wire library.
My question is, how can I get the signal quality RF communication? … I need to print a value (eg in%) of this value, so that the farther the receiver is from the transmitter, the lower this value.
I found some (very little) information on this topic online. There is a system called RSSI measurement, but RF modules low cost do not have this feature.
In a google group (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/virtualwire/iWwh-FbCOns), I found a post that suggest several methods:

• "One thought is to try You Might send a counter of the number of times your Transmitted had sent data, and in the receiver, count the number of packets you received You can calculate (# received / sent #) as a rough indicator. of signal strength. "Mr. James Hamilton.
    This expert suggested a code like this because “…You’ll need to make sure you put your counter in the tx buffer and extract it from the rx buffer correctly. The buffer stores one byte at a time, but an int is two bytes”:

transmiter:
tx_buf [0] = (counter >> 8) & 0xff;
tx_buf [1] = counter & 0xff;

And on the receiver:
unsigned int counter = (rx_buf [0] << 8) | rx_buf [1];

but … I am unable to implement it in my code.
Could some kind soul tell me how to fix this? Thank you very much in advance.

Under the code of my sketch in IDE Arduino:

Transmiter code:

/#include <VirtualWire.h>
#undef int
#undef abs
#undef double