GET to ASP - new to Arduino

Firstly, I'm new to Arduino stuff so I'm rather at sea here - sorry!

I've successfully built this project and have it working with ThingSpeak - no problem.

However, I'd quite like to have the data come to a website of my own and I mistakenly thought it would be simple; just replace the ThingSpeak IP address with my own domain name.

I've written a simple ASP page that grabs the temperature and humidity numbers from a URL and adds them to a database - again, working perfectly via a browser.

So... should changing the IP in line 21 of the sample code to something like www.mydomain.com work, do you think, or does it really need an IP address?

Once again, apologies!

So... should changing the IP in line 21 of the sample code to something like www.mydomain.com work, do you think, or does it really need an IP address?

Something needs to convert the domain name to an IP address. Usually, there is a DNS (Domain name service) running somewhere that can do that. The initialization of the server instance takes the IP address of the DNS server as one of the optional arguments.

If you supply a DNS server IP address, you can use domain names instead of IP addresses. If you don't, you can't.

Ahhhh! That makes some sort of sense to me.

You couldn't you possibly suggest what I might add to the code to add the DNS? (I'm assuming I could just use something like Google's 8.8.8.8?)

I'm assuming I could just use something like Google's 8.8.8.8?

You could test that. No need to assume anything. Facts are better than assumptions, any day.

Yes, it has to be an IP address, the module does no name lookups.

BTW, the linked code is horrible, it might work with ThingSpeak but it's not a real HTTP request and it won't work with virtual servers (no Host: header).

Yes, I was beginning to think that it might be rather poor code. So adding a DNS server isn't as simple as adding a line or two of code?