Getting a digitalRead from whether an LED is on

Hello, sorry if this is fairly obvious/derpy. I'm pretty new to electronics.

I'm trying to connect a chromatic tuner ( http://meideal.en.alibaba.com/product/490095326-212704442/New_design_Auto_Led_chromatic_tuner.html ) to an arduino, to read whether certain LEDs are on, (then react to them), in order to react to the read notes.

I'm not sure how to connect the LEDs to the pins or how to write the sketch to interpret the input and read whether an LED is on.
Basically, I'd like the on/off state of an LED to act as a switch for the HIGH/LOW digitalRead state of a digital input pin. I'm not sure how to wire or write this.

The project is similar to: http://www.instructables.com/id/Guitar-Tuner-for-the-Blind-using-an-Arduino/?ALLSTEPS

At the moment, I've just tried putting wires from the side of each LED on the tuner into arduino pins. Not having much luck.

Many Thanks.

show us the sketch

how did you connect the LEDs?

Main problem is I haven't really got any idea how its even supposed to be done.
At the moment I've got a connection from one side of an LED to a pin, pretty sure that can't be right, as surely its got to be grounded. Been experimenting grounding from other side of LED or a common ground to no avail.

Sketch currently testing is just chopped together from an old project which used switches. (Not sure if I'm even on the right track with this.)

I'm kinda floundering. Thought this was be fairly straight forward, but I just haven't the foggiest how to fit it together and can't find many examples of it being done.

Cheers.

#include <MIDI.h>

int C = 2;
int Csharp = 3;
int D = 4;
int Dsharp = 5;
int E = 6;
int F = 7;
int Fsharp = 8;

int OneLED = 9;
int TwoLED = 10;
int ThreeLED = 11;
int FourLED = 12;
int FiveLED = 13;

void setup(){

pinMode(C, INPUT);  
 pinMode(Csharp, INPUT);  
 pinMode(D, INPUT);  
 pinMode(Dsharp, INPUT);  
 pinMode(E, INPUT); 
 pinMode(F, INPUT);  
 pinMode(Fsharp, INPUT);