getting arduino to learn

Hello,

I have built a robot using arduino and L293D Motor shield, i have also coded a small program for windows in processing 2.2 that sends serial data to the arduino (forward,backwards,left and right) to control it. i would like to know how would i go about getting the arduino to record the sent data and play it back so it moves autonomously, any ideas on where to start?

thanks

Hmmm...

I think memory is gonna be an issue... Maybe look into sdcard interface...

I suspect @Qdeathstar meant "SD Card"

How many steps do you want to record ? How many bytes are there in the data for each step ? - post an example.

...R

Robin2:
I suspect @Qdeathstar meant “SD Card”

How many steps do you want to record ?
How many bytes are there in the data for each step ? - post an example.

…R

im not to sure but i am using myPort.write(‘W’); to send the data, i have little experience with sending data

How many steps do you want to record? Ten or a thousand?

How long do you want the Arduino to remember? Until the power is switched off or 'forever until I change it'?

MorganS: How many steps do you want to record? Ten or a thousand?

How long do you want the Arduino to remember? Until the power is switched off or 'forever until I change it'?

probably around about five just to start off with and last about 10 seconds

"10 seconds" is not the sort of answer I was expecting. You want to have a sequence of commands stored on the Arduino and it takes maybe 10 seconds to carry out those commands?

How does it know when to start? Do you push a button or send a different command from Processing?

Does it repeat forever; is there a command to stop or does it only carry out the sequence once when commanded?

Once it has stopped, is that sequence finished and forgotten or do you expect to pres 'start' again to re-do the sequence? If you unplug the batteries, is it OK for the sequence to be forgotten?