Getting compass direction with the BNO055

Hello, sorry I'm really new to this so if I'm asking something dumb of obvious I apologize. I am trying to get the compass direction on the BNO055. So for example I would like north to give me 0 degrees, south to be 180, east to be 90, and west to be 270. I am able to get kind of close to this by doing the following.

bno.getEvent(&magEvent, Adafruit_BNO055::VECTOR_MAGNETOMETER);

double magX = -1000000, magY = -1000000 , magZ = -1000000;
magX = magEvent.magnetic.x;
magY = magEvent.magnetic.y;
magZ = magEvent.magnetic.z;

double yaw = atan2(magY, magX) * 180/3.14159;

str = String(yaw, 3);

Serial.println(str);

When the sensor is flat this pretty but works for getting the four directions although it gives be it is 0 to 180 to -180 back to 0. The real issue is that when I change the pitch of my sensor I get the compass angle changing and I have no idea why. Any links to examples for a basic compass like I am referring to would be great or ideas on who to fix my code.
Thank you.

The formula you quote works only when the magnetometer is properly calibrated, and level. Excellent tutorial on calibrating magnetometers.

For tilt compensation, you need to use the accelerometer as well. Use your favorite search engine and the phrase "tilt compensated compass" to find several documents describing how to do that. Or use Pololu's compass sensor and code.

Of course you can use the BNO055 in full 3D orientation mode and just print the yaw angle (after compensating for your magnetic declination), but it doesn't work very well, because the magnetometer calibration is so poorly done.

Note: use of Strings on standard Arduinos is not recommended, as they cause memory problems and program crashes.

Hi, don't be disheartened. I got decent results with this approach:

• mount the compass as far away from electric current, servos or engines as you can