Getting GPS data from NEO 6 M GPS sensor

Hi everyone
I am new to Arduino and am using MEGA to get data from NEO-6M (hobbyking). I connected my GPS module to PORT 1 and am trying to read serial data. I am getting junk values. Here is my code:

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(38400);
Serial1.begin(38400);
}

void loop()
{
if (Serial1.available() > 0)
{
char data_read=Serial1.read();
Serial.print(data_read);
}

}

Please help me out :slight_smile:

Chandra

Junk values could be a baud rate mismatch. Do you have the serial monitor set to 38400? Are you sure that the GPS defaults to (or is set to) that rate?

Hi Wildbill
I have set the serial monitor to 38400 and have tried all the available baud rates (keeping the serial and serial1 baud rates same). The default value is given as 38400 for factory setting. Link: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__31135__neo_6m_gps_module.html

Please help me out :slight_smile:

Thanks again

Chandra

The serial and serial1 rates don't have to be the same - indeed it's better if Serial is running faster than the GPS on Serial1 - less chance of overflow.

What does this "junk" data look like?

Hi wildbill
The data looks like the one attached in the image. I am now using this code with softwareserial.

#include “SoftwareSerial.h”

SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 11); // RX, TX

void setup()
{
// Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
Serial.begin(115200);

Serial.println(“uBlox Neo 6M”);

// set the data rate for the SoftwareSerial port
mySerial.begin(38400);

}

void loop() // run over and over
{
if (mySerial.available())
Serial.write(mySerial.read());

}

Thanks once again

Chandra

You need to determine what rate the gps is trying to send serial data to the arduino. The default speed will be in the device datasheet, it is unlikely to be 38000, more likely 9600.