Getting Megacore to work with Atmega2560

Hi all

I'm quite new to custom bootloaders. I need optiboot feature which can differentiate between software reset and power loss. Thus I use Megacore on my atmega2560.

My code was fully working when I was using the stock atmega2560 bootloader however when I used Megacore, the code stops working.

I uploaded the bootloader through a Nano. Here's my setting when I was about to burn the bootloader to mega:

Board: ATmega2560
Clock: External 16 Mhz
BOD: 2.7V
LTO: disabled
Pinout: Arduino MEGA pinout
Bootloader: Yes(UART0)

Programmer: Arduino as ISP

I look around in the avr folder of megacore and I opened the boards.txt file. I went to the mega2560 section and I noticed this:

2560.menu.bootloader.uart0.bootloader.file=optiboot_flash/bootloaders/{build.mcu}/{build.clock_speed}/optiboot_flash_{build.mcu}_{upload.port}_{upload.speed}_{build.clock_speed}_{build.bootloader_led}_BIGBOOT.hex

My questions:

1. I noticed there's Arduino as ISP (Megacore) option in the programmer. Should I use this one instead?
  2. Should I replace optiboot_flash/bootloaders/{build.mcu}/{build.clock_speed}/optiboot_flash_{build.mcu}{upload.port}{upload.speed}{build.clock_speed}{build.bootloader_led}_BIGBOOT.hex with stk500boot_v2_mega2560.hex?

Please provide a detailed description of what you mean by "the code stops working".

jch700:

1. I noticed there's Arduino as ISP (Megacore) option in the programmer. Should I use this one instead?
  2. Should I replace optiboot_flash/bootloaders/{build.mcu}/{build.clock_speed}/optiboot_flash_{build.mcu}{upload.port}{upload.speed}{build.clock_speed}{build.bootloader_led}_BIGBOOT.hex with stk500boot_v2_mega2560.hex?
  1. "(MegaCore)" only shows that the 'programmer' is defined in MegaCore. the sketch is still the one bundled with IDE
  2. if you want to return to old bootoader use the Arduino AVR core's Mega board selection to Burn Bootloader