Getting my first stepper

I’m working on a project right now that’s going to require – among other things – a stepper motor. As such I’m on the market for a motor shield and a stepper, two things I’ve not bought before. Here’s what I’ve been looking at:

Shield-wise:

I’ve been looking at Arduino’s Motor Shield R3, mainly because it will still allow me to access the other pins on the board. I’ll be controlling 4 micro servos (from a dedicated power supply) too, so I need to keep four other pins available:

http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoMotorShieldR3

Stepper-wise:

I’ve been looking at Sparkfun’s ROB-09238 (albeit from a UK seller) for a balance of power and price, which I should also be able to power using a 12V DC supply I picked up for driving a solenoid a while back. Right?

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9238

Will these two play nice? Is there anything specific I should know about power requirements etc.? I've got plenty of experience using servos now, so I'm cool with those, but steppers are new to me!

What will you use for the stepper power supply? What will you use for the servo power supply?

Hi,

Sorry, I wasn't clear in my previous post: I've already got a 5v power supply I've used for servos in the past, and I've got a 12v wall-wart that I've used for solenoids (both with wires trimmed and connectors added for protoboards/breadboards).

I just wanted to confirm - or not - that I'm barking up the right tree with this shield and motor?

What performance are you wanting from the motor? That one has 33ohm windings so it won't be very fast - also it would be easier to drive if it was unipolar.

I'd check the motor can do what you want before committing to it.

An A4988 driver is superior to the L298-based motor shield.