Getting rid of pin noise

Hi All,

I am very new to the Arduino and electronics in general, but have learned a great deal already. I have run into a problem with my first large scale project, and after delving through the code, it seems that my problem is physical.

It appears that my Arduino is randomly receiving inputs into my input pins from something as simple as me grabbing a wire. I believe the pins are reacting to extremely small fluctuations, or simply noise from other input pins. Is there a standard way to combat this (whether in code or something physical to consider)?

I found the debounce library helps, as this is my first post I can’tpost the link so give me a sec

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/Debounce

there we go

hope that helps

Matte

Are the pins you're getting noise on already connected to something? If not then they'll float all over the place.

Andrew

@Matte: Thanks for the link to the debounce library. I had found info on debouncing, but was having trouble implementing it. The library seems like a much easier way. I'll give that a shot.

@Andrew: The pins that are getting noise do have buttons connected to them. Basically, I am trying to make a Simon game, but when I push one button, I sometimes get inputs triggered as if I also pushed other buttons. That, or I get multiple inputs from a single button from one push.

The only issue I see with the debounce (unless I misunderstand how it works) is that I have already built some delay into the input (200ms I believe). I thought this would get rid of multiple inputs on its own, but it seemed to have not.

I read another post talking about putting a 0.1uF cap in line with the arduino somewhere to isolate noise issues. I didn't really understand it, but thought it might be a way to further ground the arduino in an attempt to reduce noise? Also, could the size of the breadboard I'm prototyping on be an issue? It is a pretty large breadboard.