Getting Started -- 100% newb

Hey guys, first: thanks for the flame for posting this…I probably deserve it =/.

Second: I have ZERO experience with hardware so I have no clue where to start! I’ve read the getting started page on your site but that barely helped. Can someone recommend which Arduino to buy and what else I will need? I don’t even have a soldering iron so xD.

I’m really eager to learn though! No specific projects in mind just now…just want to get started creating stuff :slight_smile:

I’d start out with a starter pack from Adafruit. Lots of helpful tutorial there as well.

yea the starter packs like the one linked above or from someplace like make magazine is a good place to start for the 100% total noobie

I wouldn’t worry about a soldering iron just yet, there is a solderless breadboard included in most kits which lets you just plug stuff in

I would think about getting a multimeter, and they can be as cheap or as pricey as you want, (for example here in the states, K-mart sells a real nice craftsman digital model that would do everything you would need it for like 12 bucks, or you can spend well over 100 on something like a fluke that would probably cook you dinner too)

Ty guys! And thanks for being so friendly :slight_smile:

I have purchased the starter kit in your link. Now to wait impatiently while its delivered :-/

Ty guys! And thanks for being so friendly

OH! I forgot

[flame on]
how dare you ask a question! Dont you know that is what this forum is for!!!
[/flame off]

LOL,

Another kit that can be helpful when trying to learn some basic electronics would be this.