Getting Started (warning complete n00b)

I didn't see a better forum for this, if there is one, like an introductory forum that I missed, let me know. (I did look)

I'm new to the Arduino, but have been looking into it for a little while now (a few months, in spare time). I have been working with electronics for many years though, mostly simple projects, and mostly external interfacing, remote car starters, alarms and audio systems have been where I have spent most of my time. Some simple repairs to amplifiers and such as well.

My ultimate goal is to create a display to interface with the ECM in my vehicle (and a few friend's vehicles), I know it can be done, I have one working now, but from a company that built it doesn't seem to want to support any further development.

Arduino seems pretty user friendly for someone like me with basic (VERY basic) understanding of code, and experience with electronics.

My plan is to get an Arduino and an LCD sheild, but start with the basics, getting an LED to flash, getting a couple LEDs to flash in different sequences and for different reasons, etc, then move onto "Hello World." Not gonna try to be a hero right out of the gate. Eventually I want to use colour LCD displays, such as the small ones found in cell phones for gauges as well.

Anyway, sorry for the long into to this thread. I plan to pick up the basics this weekend (as long as they are in stock), and that's where I need some guidance.

From what I've read it seems that starting with the Arduino Uno would be a good base, and then adding an LCD shield for the end goals.

This is what I plan to start with: Arduino Uno: http://creatroninc.com/arduino-1/arduino-modules/arddu-031328.html LCD Shield: http://creatroninc.com/arduino-1/shields-for-arduino/display-shields/ardlc-999012.html

I have a 12V regulated power supply, soldering station, LEDs, and other misc electronics already, but is there anything else that would be recommended?

Thank you.