Getting started: Why does my 5-7 example (motor) not work

I re-built the circuit to run a motor depicted in the book “Getting started with Arduino” (ex. 5-7, page 69)
As my motor doesn’t work, I am looking for how to find the error.

I am a beginner and would much appreciate your opinion and advice.

This is the sketch I used:

const int MOTOR = 9;

void setup() {
pinMode (MOTOR, OUTPUT);

digitalWrite (MOTOR, HIGH);
}
void loop(){
}

Assume that

• the MOSFET (and the diode) is the one used in the book
  • I use a 9V battery as a power supply
  • The MOSFET gets hot, the diode as well.
  • The motor (an old hairdryer motor) is correctly connected, (though I do not know its polarity, I just connected it in both ways, in which noone worked).

Might it be useful to use a multimeter? What should I measure (voltage, current), and what should be the result?

Thank you very much for your help!

I use a 9V battery as a power supply

The motor (an old hairdryer motor)

I don't really see those statements as mutually compatible.

You mean I should use another motor? If yes, how I see which one is the right one (please consider that I like to disassemble old devices and use their parts with Arduino) ?

A small DC motor would be a good idea.

Mark

If you're powering the motor from a battery then it needs to be a DC motor and the battery needs to be able to supply the voltage the motor needs to run, and it needs to be able to supply as much current as the motor draws at that voltage. If they're correctly rated for each other, you would be able to connect the motor directly to the battery and it will run. (In this case the Arduino and transistor just provide a means for you to turn the motor off under electronic control.)

3Design: - The motor (an old hairdryer motor) is correctly connected, (though I do not know its polarity, I just connected it in both ways, in which noone worked).