Getting started with Arduino Mega

I just received my Arduino Mega, and got the simple programs that flash the onboard LED going right away. Now I'm trying to flash an LED that I put on an external breadboard. I put a 1K resistor between the LED and the Aduino's ground, and connected the + side of the LED to pin 8 and changed the program to use pin 8. Nothing happens. I've confirmed that I can light that LED by supplying anywhere from 1.5 to 6 volts to it directly on the breadboard. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? I'm a professional Java programmer, but a newbie with electronics. Thanks.

Did you remember to set the pinMode for pin 8 to an output?

Yes. I set the pin variable to 8, and part of the program I'm using sets the pin referenced in that variable to output. FYI, I'm using the "Making Things Talk" book for my initial work with the Arduino.

There are several pins labeled "gnd" on the board. Any of those should work, right? I've also tried this with pins other than 8, and none of them works either.

All the Gnd pins are connected together - you can use any one you want.

Try the sketch that blinks the led on pin 13. Connect your external led as described in your earlier post using the 1k resistor, but use pin 13 instead of 8 and see it that gets both LEDs blinking

When I do that, the onboard LED blinks, but not the external one. The code I'm running is as follows:

int LEDPin8 = 8; int LEDPin13 = 13;

void setup() { pinMode( LEDPin8, OUTPUT ); pinMode( LEDPin13, OUTPUT ); }

void loop() { digitalWrite( LEDPin8, HIGH ); digitalWrite( LEDPin13, HIGH ); delay( 1000 ); digitalWrite( LEDPin8, LOW ); digitalWrite( LEDPin13, LOW ); delay( 1000 ); }

Code looks ok, that leaves seeing what the external wiring actually looks like. Is the LED wired in the correct direction (they are a polarity sensitive component) ?

Lefty