getting to ground

yes, I am new to arduino. I have a adafruit fx sound board. I power it on with a pin on my arduino at various times of the day. it has 11 trigger pins. to play a track you must GROUND that tracks pin momentarily.

what must I learn, to accomplish having my arduino ground a specific pin on the fx board.

thank you for your help

Please supply a link to information about the sound board.

pinMode(pin, OUPTUT);
digitalWrite(pin, LOW);

septillion:

pinMode(pin, OUTPUT);

digitalWrite(pin, LOW);

… if the pullup voltage on the sound board is <= 5V. Also, to remove the effect, you:

pinMode(pin, INPUT);

However, I am still suspicious and want to see the board specs.

aarg: However, I am still suspicious and want to see the board specs.

https://www.adafruit.com/product/2133

create an array of output pins attached to the device

byte pins[11] = {...

then just set the attached pins to OUTPUT and maintain the attached pins at HIGH

for (auto p : pins)
{
  pinMode(p, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(p, HIGH);
}

and then drop them low for a few milliseconds when you want to select a track

void playTrack(byte pin)
{
  digitalWrite(pin, LOW);
  delay(25); // you may have to mess with this
  digitalWrite(pin, HIGH);
}

thanks guys, I'm using, https://www.adafruit.com/product/2341

same thing basically. which leads to the question. if it gets set to HIGH isn't that going to push current through or to that pin?

just curious as I set the pins to high to light led's. low to turn them off. there may be more here to learn than previously expected. I will try this and see how it works.

thank again

High sets the pin to 5V and low sets the pin to ground potential, 0V. Whether or not that causes current to flow depends on what is connected to the pin and whether or not it is going to pass current at one of those voltages or the other.

Fredric58: if it gets set to HIGH isn't that going to push current through or to that pin?