Giant score board

Hi Guys,

I'm making a giant score board made out of LED strips, for our rugby club. it has 4, 7-segment displays, with every segment made out of a peice of LED strip, drawing 300ma on 12V.
The arduino is connected to 2 SAA1064 chips by i2c. The SAA1064 is a dual 7segement controller. However, it is a current-sink IC.
As every segment pulls 300ma, there has to be a transistor between the segment and the IC. Can someone point me to a transistor that can switch this load, and with matching resistors? I'm not that good with electronics so a little help would be awesome.

I've found these pnp transistors, is this the right way to go?

50 x BC327 BC327-25 Transistor PNP 45V 0.5A

Manufacturer: PHILIPS/NXP
Manufacturer Part No: BC327-25
Package / Case: TO-92
RoHS: Yes
Datasheet: Click Here

Specifications
Current Rating: 0.5A
Voltage Rated: 45V
Transistor Type: PNP
Features: General Purpose

Thanks for helping out!

Best regards

Mike

You want to control the +supply to the strips?

I would go an easier route - use 4 standard shift registers, with the outputs controlling current sink transistors, either N-channel MOSFETs or NPN transistors, and switch the - of the LED strips to ground. Control the segments that turn on from software, easy to do.
I'd go with something like this:
N-channel, logic level, low Rds, low input capacitance, low cost, capable of desired current

Search your favorite suppliers.

Logic Level, Low Rds, N-channel. Can control from 0/+5 level, will not get hot, sink current to ground.

Hi Crossroads,

Thanks for replying.

Is it possible you draw a little scheme as example? I thought it was easier to use the Saa1064 so i dont have to handle the 7-segment part on the arduino.
I do have a bunch of IRF830 NPN transistors, would it be possible to use these?
Here is the datasheet":

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/fairchild/IRF830.pdf

thanks again
Mike