Girls?

Hello everyone,

I'm a teacher here in Vancouver BC, I'm looking for ideas for Arduino projects that might interest teenage girls, ideas anyone?

A bit of background, I have an extensive background in computer programming. I've done some PIC microprocessor programming and even etching many years ago. I recently had my 10 yo son in a tech science camp where they built battling / fighting robots with Lego Mindstorms EV3 kits. He loved it so much I had to eventually get his own set. But I noticed there was only one girl in this day camp. Not surprisingly she didn't finish the program.

I feel there are so many things to learn relating to computers, programming, trouble shooting and critical thinking / problem solving ... but would like my program to appeal to teenage girls as well.

Any ideas?

Hi,

Very intersting issue (maybe you have awaked the Averno devils) :grin:

I've got four daugthers (39, 34, 14, 11); I have a 9 yr old grandson too. The older two are engineers and are working in England currently (food and photovoltaic industries. By the way, I was grandad for a second time last march and the UK do not give my granddaugther the UK nationality; those British . . . . :angry: ).

Once made the introduction: I bougth a Lego wedo to my grand this summer and we were practising a bit last week. I (intentionally) choosed a moment that my two 11 and 14 girls were over there. The result was that the 11 one finally got slepping (literally) while the other was interested. Fnally they (grand and 14 yr old) mounted the angry (hungry?) alligator that Lego proposes. They learnt a lot about distance sensor and a bit about DC motors and gears.

My smaller daugthers say that minecraft is for boys and animals role games (you know: horses, pigs, hens, . . .) for girls . . . . maybe this is true (another Averno devils?).