Going crazy with strings...

Hello Forum, I am pretty new in the world of arduino, and I got stuck in a project. I am trying to send a command to a OBD2-Interface (Onboard Diagnostic Bus of my car), what works fine. Also processing the answer is ok. But it seems I'm too stupid to make it beautiful. My Prob:

I declare a strinf of chars:

char obddesc[12];

and later in a function I try to fill this string:

int getobd(int var)
{
 switch (var) {
   case 1:
     getstuff("04");  // request command "4" from obd2
     obdunit[0] ='%'; // the unit of the result is percent
     obddesc[0] = 'EngLd'; // description is "engine load"
     result = ((a*100)/255);
     break;
   case 2:

The Problem is, that in the main loop I can not print "obddesc":

Serial.println(obddesc);

It just appears a "d", the last character of "EngLd". How can I make it work proper, to that the whole word is in my string?

Thanks in advance!

This…

'EngLd'

…is a character constant. It defines a single character (the letter dee). This…

"EngLd"

…is a string constant. It defines a string of characters. (which is what you want) The difference is the quote: single quotes for character constants; double quotes for string constants.

It isn’t necessary to build the string to print. You can call print and println for each piece…

Serial.print( "EngLd " ); 
   Serial.print( getobd( 1 ), DEC );
   Serial.print( " %" );
   Serial.println();
'EngLd'

Is a multi-character constant, it is not a string.
For that, you need double quotes.

"EngLd"

But, you can't assign a string to a char.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstring/strcpy/

If you were going to follow the method the original post, it'd have to be

obdesc [0] = 'E'; obdesc [1] = 'n'; obdesc [2] = 'g'; obdesc [3] = 'l'; obdesc [4] = '\0';

But far easier & clearer to do as the previous poster suggested, and just print the literal string with one call.