Gokart Tachometer and Speedometer Dials

Hi all,

I spent the winter cobbling together a set of dials for a gokart i built some years back and thought i’d post my results for all to use.

I will say before i begin that i am not an electronics engineer by a long way. This is the most complicated project i’ve attempted and may seem a little rough around the edges. I also wanted to make the most of what i already had (i.e. the old dials).

The dials each have a modified Arduino to calculate the speed and RPM and drive the dial motors themselves. I used a set of old motorbike dials (not stepper motor type) which are driven with PWM with the help of a small transistor. The speed is calculated from a pulse from a Honeywell 3GT101DC/3GT102DC gear tooth sensor on the rear axle chain sprocket. The RPM is calculated from a pulse from the existing tachometer line from the engine TCI unit with the help of a little cleaning circuitry.

I also added a change-gear LED, an neural gear indicator LED and the ability to read/control/recalibrate the dials with the I2C bus. The I2C bus also has a Arduino Diecimila connected with a 16x2 LCD module and a few buttons. This is unfinished and serves only to fiddle with some other settings.

I particularly owe a lot of the theory to:

SecretsOfArduinoPWM Secrets of Arduino PWM by Ken Shirriff
Arduino 101 - Timers and Interrupts http://letsmakerobots.com/node/28278 by RobotFreak

I’ll try to explain how it works.

The tachometer uses a LOW VOLTAGE pulse from the engine TCI unit from a line that was intended to drive a tach. The dangers of a vehicles ignition system are well known and the voltages can easily brick your circuits and perhaps you! Most people recommend not connecting to a vehicles ignition system ever because they vary between manufacturer/model and there are DANGEROUSLY HIGH VOLTAGES INVOLVED!!! Warned!