Governing an electric generator. Using comparator tach. and servo throttle.

Hello! This is my first project with an Arduino. The idea is to keep the engine of a generator at 3600 RPM regardless of load.

This is my plan's vague outline so far:

• Use a transformer from a wall adapter to step down the generator's output voltage. Further voltage-divide the transformer output for use as a tachometer input to the Arduino's comparator.
  • Use a servo to control throttle position.
  • The particular platform is an Arduino Uno rev. 3.

The problem I seem to have run into is that I can't have both a servo and the comparator trigger an interrupt because they both use the same time/interrupt.

There are other timers though. I figured if timer 1 was tied up on tachometer duty then timer 3 could be utilized to control a servo. I know pins 9 and 10 use timer 1; so what's stopping me from using the other PWM pins?

If all else fails I can just use an external tach. source, e.g., external comparator or a trigger wheel etc.

Thanks in advance! :)

You're lacking an understanding of how the throttle control works with the engine's governor to maintain speed. The throttle doesn't set fuel flow but rather the throttle manipulates tension on the governor to set a desired speed.

If your engine is slowing down when under load there's nothing you can do about that but get a bigger engine. There's only so much fuel you can shove into the engine before it goes to rich and floods.

If by "throttle" you're referring to directly manipulating the butterfly valve on the carburetor... well that's something different. I don't think I've ever seen anyone do that but it would be interesting to see it.

Heh, decided to educate myself.

"The term throttle has come to refer, informally and incorrectly, to any mechanism by which the power or speed of an engine is regulated." -Wikipedia

Guess I'm guilty of that. XD