GPS & GLCD help

Ok, I am fairly new to Arduino, but have been researching and have learned a LOT. I am not new to electornics, just to programing.

I have a project that I am trying to do, and can’t for the life of me get the sketch figured out. What I am trying to do is gather GPS data, parse it, and display it on a GLCD. This has been done a lot with 16x2 LCDs, but I want more data on the screen so I opted to use a larger screen (Serial GLCD) to show everything at once. I have got the GPS working with the example, and have got the GLCD working with an example as well. Now I am trying to combine them, and can’t get anything to show on the Serial GLCD at all!

Hardware is as follows:

Arduino Uno R3
Copernicus ll GPS module (connected to pin 2 on Uno)
Sainsmart 128x64 Serial GLCD (connected to pins 7,8,9 on Uno)

I am using TinyGPS and U8Glib libraries along with Software Serial.

I am a smart guy, and can usually figure things out pretty easily, but this issue completely eludes me.

I have attached the sketch for the Serial GLCD that I used to test it, and to set the locations of all the data I am wishing to display in hopes that it will help paint a picture of what I am trying to do.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Nate

GLCD_TEST.ino (603 Bytes)

If you remove the reference to the GPS library does the screen start working?

i.e the code you posted doesnt seem to use the GPS at the moment

The only think I can think causes these issues if when 2 different libraries both use the same internal timer, but it seems odd that either would use the a hardware timer

No, the sketch I posted is just for the GLCD. that is what I used to test the display, and set up where I wanted everything to print to.
I tried to combine it with a GPS sketch, and nothing.

Here is the sketch I started to write for reference.

GPS_Telemetry_in_progress.ino (1.94 KB)

anyone else??

Can you detail the pin configuration of the GPS and GLCD ..

GPS (Copernicus ll) is pinned as follows: