GPS Guided Controlled RC Car?

I want to build an arduino controlled RC car. The goal is create a obstacle avoiding car that uses GPS waypoints to guide itself.

I need to know:

• The best RC car to use as the platform
  • The best Arduino to use
  • And a list of other parts I will need

This is my first project on arduino. I know a lot about programming but this is my first time working with hardware

Get an Arduino UNO and start by blinking an LED. This will get you familiar with the IDE and the code. The car is your choice. But a Google search for a vehicle or even a rover that is Arduino compatible will get you started. Then start controlling motors. One step at a time will go a long way. Don't just think you will buy all the parts and put it together and it will work. It won't. But a Google search will also teach you alot.

joy4856:
I want to build an arduino controlled RC car. The goal is create a obstacle avoiding car that uses GPS waypoints to guide itself.

Is this for a personal project, or is it for a competition? The answer may affect the choices for the hardware.

joy4856:
I need to know:

• The best RC car to use as the platform
  • The best Arduino to use
  • And a list of other parts I will need

For an RC car, you would be best to use a hobby grade vehicle (especially if this is for a competition) - because most of these use standard RC parts - like a servo to steer with, and an ESC (electronic speed controller) to control the drive motor(s). You will find, though, that such vehicles are anything but inexpensive.

For the Arduino, you’ll probably want a Mega 2560 - perhaps with an SRAM expansion. But I would start with getting familiar with an Uno, first. Don’t jump in the deep end; follow @codlink’s advice.