GPS help please

Hi all,

I am very new to programming and Arduino.

Could someone please help with some example code for parsing NMEA from a GPS (Lycosys LS20031).

I have used Mikal Hart's TinyGPS library with good results. However, I am only interested in the string for "course over ground" headed $GPVTG and TinyGPS uses GPRMC and GPGGA.

I am using a Duemilanove with the GPS on the hardware serial port and my LCD on NewSoftSerial.

Thanks, Matt

Why don't you post the code you are now using to see the GPS data, and some sample output. We can then tell you how to extract just the bit that is of interest.

The reason that this is necessary is that you may or may not currently be storing the GPS output in an array. If you are, then making a string from that array, and parsing it are easy. If you are not, then it will be necessary to do that first.

Okay, I hope it’s not too big;
As you can see I’m only interested in speed and course but the $GPVTG string outputs those values directly whereas the TinyGPS code uses multipliers to change the speed in Knots to other units.

/*
TinyGPS - a small GPS library for Arduino providing basic NMEA parsing
Copyright (C) 2008-9 Mikal Hart
All rights reserved

NewSoftSerial.h - Multi-instance software serial library
Copyright (c) 2006 David A. Mellis. All rights reserved.
– Interrupt-driven receive and other improvements by ladyada
– Tuning, circular buffer, derivation from class Print,
multi-instance support, porting to 8MHz processors,
various optimizations, PROGMEM delay tables, inverse logic and
direct port writing by Mikal Hart

Most of this code has been taken from Mikal Hart’s normal use of
TinyGPS example code

This modification by Matthew Gray
*/

#include <NewSoftSerial.h>
#include <TinyGPS.h>

TinyGPS gps;
NewSoftSerial lcd(2, 3);

void gpsdump(TinyGPS &gps);
bool feedgps();
void printFloat(double f, int digits = 1);

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(57600);
lcd.begin(115200);

lcd.print(0x7C,BYTE);