GPS.read() only reading -1??

I am trying to use a GPS Parallax 28146 for a project. I’m just doing some testing on Arduino to make sure it works and is accurate.

I’m new to Arduino and I’m having a hard time figuring out what’s wrong with my code. When I run the code, the only thing my GPS.read() is picking up is a value of -1. The GPS has acquired the satellites (the LED is not blinking), I’m obviously just not reading the info correctly. The link to the datasheet for the GPS is below:

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/acc/GPSManualV1.1.pdf

I have attached my code (this is my first time posting to the forum, so I’m not sure I attached the code correctly…).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial GPS(10, 10);

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
  GPS.begin(4800);
}

void loop(){
  delay(3000);
  GPS.write('!GPS');
  GPS.write(0x01);
  if (GPS.read() > 0){
    Serial.println("Signal Valid");
  }
  else Serial.println("Signal Not Valid");

GPS.write(0x02);
 Serial.print("# of Acquired Satellites: ");
 Serial.println(GPS.read());

GPS.write(0x03);
 Serial.print("Time: ");

GPS.write(0x04);
 Serial.print("Date: ");

GPS.write(0x05);
 Serial.print("Latitude: ");

GPS.write(0x06);
 Serial.print("Longitude: ");

GPS.write(0x09);
 Serial.print("Heading: ");

}

GPS.ino (737 Bytes)

I don't think these should be the same: SoftwareSerial GPS(10, 10);

First is the rxPin, second is the txPin.

Well here are my connections:

I’m using Arduino Mega2560

GPS Vcc to Arduino 3.3V
GPS GND to Arduino GND
GPS SIO to Arduino Pin 10

The only other connection on the GPS is raw, but that doesn’t need to be connected.

How else could I use the pins?

Also, I actually have it hooked up to Arduino Pin 49, not 10. Still reading -1

To be honest, I have used only the NMEA0183 protocol. That is a “talker”. You don’t/can’t send it anything. You just listen.