GPS Tracker using Wifi

Ok, so right up front I'm going to say that this is only my second Aruino project and way more complicated than my first one (turning a light on and off). In an effort to avoid turning this into an XY Problem (http://xyproblem.info/), here is what I've got going on.

I recently had an expensive piece of equipment taken from our office. I eventually found it, but it was a lot of effort. This is something that I would like to avoid repeating.

I would like to build a device that goes in the box with my equipment and just stays there. Then based on some prearranged conditions (indicating that it has left the building) it should start to phone home.

I have very little experience with Arduino, so I would like to know if my plan makes sense before I go off and buy a bunch of stuff. I already have an Arduino Uno, so I don't need a new one. I've seen several tutorials that use GPS and some that use Wifi. It seems to me that I should be able to build a unit that I can place on my equipment. Then when it loses Wifi connection with my SSID (or is removed XX number of feet/miles from my office) it starts attempting to connect to public wifi. Then when it connects to a public wifi SSID it sends it's coordinates to me. I also looked at several GSM options, but it seems to me that all of them require you to put your phone SIM card in. I don't want to pay a monthly fee, if possible. I really don't care how I get there, but I want a device that tells me where my equipment is in real time.

I hope this all makes sense. Thanks in advance!!!

These days, how many "public wifis" are there that don't require a password or sign in sequence?

OP,

I don't know what country you are in. If you can get a prepaid 30USD SIM card with say a balance that expires in 1 year, then would you do the GSM? Sounds like xy problem after all ;)